The Unique Blogger Award

img_3575

Wow, I find myself in a rather unique situation:

A couple of days ago I got nominated for The Unique Blogger Award. Pun intended. I was not prepared… at all. I had hardly even heard about this concept of “Awards”.

While I was slowly writing my draft, being distracted, coming back to it, editing, writing, so on… I got another Unique Blogger Award! I was mostly done by this point… or so I tought. So I decided to put a twist to my Award speech, and include both into one acceptance letter.

Thanks to Sylvia Jo and Angela for nominating me. I have taken the creative freedom to write my responses to your questions in a conversation style. Like we are just friends chatting. It makes writing easier for me… smiles softly

Sylvia Jo: What makes you proud?

Me: I am proud of ME! BAM! There it is — five short words, yet the one most challenging sentence I written so far. And the most scariest moment since I pressed my first “publish”.

Please, wait, understand this: I do not want to come off as a big ego. But for me… I am an introvert with social anxieties, perfectionist traits, low self-esteem. For me, saying and admitting to myself I am proud of myself is a huge leap. I am pushing myself out of my comfort zone on a daily basis. My blog is not a personal one, it is stories based off a game, but yet– I put myself out there and that makes me proud.

Sylvia Jo: When was the last time you a good laugh–you know, one of those that come from deep in the belly and makes your sides hurt? Could you share the moment with us?

Me: It was last November. Every year I host a Murder Mystery Dinner for a handful of my closest friends. One of my guest canceled the last-minute, so my husband stepped in to take his role. Everyone was getting into character and being silly. I do not remember exactly what, but he made a comment that was so hilarious, everyone laughed loud.

Sylvia Jo: What one thing have you not done that you REALLY want to do?

Me: I would love to take a vacation to Europe with my husband. We have never had a long trip together before and it is also one of his big goals.

Angela:What do you appreciate the most about your life?

Me: There are so many things, I have a few great friends, a loving husband –he makes me the luckiest woman alive 🙂 Every day I have the chance to connect with new people, create content, learn more, grow… reach out and makes someones day a little better.
Maybe by reading a story they enjoy, will keep their mind out of their own worries, and immerse into another world. Or simpler, maybe smile to a stranger. We all have gifts to give.

Angela: If you could, what is one piece of advice you would give to your 10-year-old self?

Me: Learn to relax sometimes and be kind to yourself.

I did not know it back then when I was 10 year old, but I was standing at the threshold of what would be my most challenging 10 year period in my life. I was active in acting, classic dressage riding, drawing, reading… while also keeping up with schoolwork, doing chores and looking after siblings AND being responsible for the family dog! Looking back, its hard to belive I was able to do all that. And truth is I was not.

A couple of years later my family went through a crisis wich triggered a full-blown burnout. Did not see that happen, huh? I did not care about anything or anyone anymore, least of all about myself. And not even a teenager yet, I was pretty jaded. It took me many years to come back to a level of self-acceptance.

Angela: Describe the thing you’re most passionate about. Could be anything – an activity, a concept, even an object, etc.

Me: One word: Abundance. I am passionate about it in all meanings of the word. Well, perhaps except physics and chemistry– not really into that, hehe. What I mean is affluence of wealth and of hearth, so much I can share with the world ,resources… money, time, energy– to change the world. I want to get to that point. And I think I will.

Being a new blogger, there are so many in our amazing community I have yet to bump into. So for me it is next to impossible to think of 15 nominees. So here is my list of 9. All worth a read.My 9 nominees are:

Trial By Ginger https://trialbyginger.com/2017/07/31/when-a-ginger-snaps/

Mostly Blogging http://www.mostlyblogging.com

Notes from the U.K. https://notesfromtheuk.com

Looking like mee… https://lookinglikemee.wordpress.com

The Palace https://lehunt.blog

A Hope My Words Would Make A Difference https://insearchofhumanitysite.wordpress.com

Soul On Rice https://soulonrice.com

My Stories With Music https://mystorieswithmusic.com

Normalcy https://normalcyweb.wordpress.com

My 3 questions for my nominees are:

  1. If you could travel back in time and give your old self one advice, what would it be?
  2. How would you spend your perfect day?
  3. What quote has inspired you the most, and why?

Rules

  • Share the link to the blogger who has shown love to you by nominating you.
  • Answer the questions.
  • In the spirit of sharing love and solidarity with our blogging family, nominate 15 people and notify them.
  • Ask them three questions.

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “The Unique Blogger Award

  1. I am truly thankful, and doubled blessed, to have made so much positive impact in the blogging community already. This is more than I have dreamed and I hope to build on it and make my blog even better.

    I am not quite sure how this notification system works :S When I link they get a ping? Or what was it called again. or do I have to write to each nominee?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was not sure, so I sent everyone a comment about the award. I hope I did not come off as spammy. In that case I am sorry. Still navigating through this new (to me) world called blogging, and the unwritten rules.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi!
    Congratulations on your nomination! Yoo hoo!! Seriously, way to go.
    Thank you for nominating me. I am honored, truly.
    I will answer your three questions here:
    If you could travel back in time and give your old self one advice, what would it be? Janice, relax. Be patient.
    How would you spend your perfect day? With my daughters, my dogs, my husband. My friends are pretty cool too.
    What quote has inspired you the most, and why? Instead of crafting a vacation to get away from your life, you should craft a life that you don’t want to get away from. Why do I love this quote? I travel often but it made me realize what a great life I have!
    Thanks again. I’m excited by our connection.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I am still floating around on a cloud about the award. It is hard to believe that a beginner like me can get recognized, but that can also be my own insecurities speaking. This means so much to me. And congrats to you, your posts are a special blend of informative and creative warmth. Your writing style is easy to read and it is like having a personal mentor.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Hi Sim,
        I greatly appreciate the compliments. I am a teacher so that may be why my writing style is easy to read. Creative warmth– wow! Thank you. I especially appreciated the part about the personal mentor. I always make time for my followers. I wish I could make time for everybody but school resumes on Monday.
        I encourage you to sign up for my newsletters so you keep receiving my articles, giveaway notices, and party invitations. Off to bed. After 1:00 am here in California. Thanks again for the nomination. I did tweet your post.
        Janice

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Many, many thanks for the nomination–especially since I’m keeping good company with both your nominees and the nominator–but I don’t do awards. I try to keep a tight focus in Notes from the U.K., and they’d end up pulling me in all sorts of other directions.

    Again, many thanks, and great respect for the other blogs you nominated.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Since I put your link on my blog, your visibility in search engines will rise =) Google thinks if other people link their blogs to yours, you must have a quality blog and will show your blog to the people using their search engine.
        Janice

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

